Really, Nothing Is Too Small

John 14:13-14 “13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.  14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”

NoPrayerTooSmallThis last Sunday was a day of frustration. The day started off pretty good. I went to church. Once I got home, my wife, Patti, had to go and babysit our grandkids in Orlando. After she left, I started to pursue my list of chores for the day. When it came time to leave the house, I realized I could not find my house keys. They were on a ring with office keys, house keys, etc.

Needless to say I spent the next several hours in panic and frustration searching every pair of pants, every coat, every crevice between the seats in the car. Nothing could help me find those keys. I wanted to ask God to help me, but it seemed so insignificant, and remember we’re not supposed to test God.

In my thoughts I remembered back to a professor that I had in law school at Oral Roberts University.  I remember him talking about being in his car, driving up to the courthouse, running behind and unable to find any parking spot. He talked about how proud he was that he prayed to ask the Lord to intervene and help him find a parking spot and come to his aid. He described that out of the blue, right in front of the courthouse somebody backed up and created a parking spot available for him to use. It was then that he gave God all the credit and said that God had intervened even in his smallest needs that day to help with finding him a parking spot. I thought that was rather silly at the time.

Go back to my story. After spending several hours, probably a good six, looking for those keys, I finally decided that I would break open my Bible and spend a little time in prayer.  If nothing else just to calm myself down. I prayed to God,  “Please intercede and help me find those keys.” It was almost immediately that it came to my mind to go out and check on the pontoon boat. You see we had been out on the pontoon boat the day before. There in the cup holder was my set of keys.

The whole point of the story is that there is nothing too great, and likewise there is nothing too small, for you as a believer to ask of God. In fact, God invites us to avail ourselves of his company and his counsel and his help.

Don’t be afraid as a believer to ask for God to intercede for you, even in the smallest needs of your life. Then do not be afraid to give him the honor and the glory. It is a way to testify to the world about God’s involvement in your life.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

