Rescue The Weak

Psalms 82:3  “Give justice to the poor and the orphan; uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute.

kidsI was watching TV late Saturday evening. I can’t help it. I am a raging insomniac.

I was observant of the number of charities and ministries that can build a foundation on children, the hungered, and the poor. The sad part is how desensitized we become when constantly bombarded with pictures of starving children.

At one point I am watching a ministry infomercial with starving children and realizing how unaffected I was. Then I realized I was eating a sandwich during the program. I didn’t feel ashamed. I just felt disgusted at my calloused heart.

I spent some serious time with the TV off in prayer. I asked God to fill me with compassion for the hungry, for the poor, and for my neighbors who are without Christ as their savior.

It is important that we remain sensitive to the weak, the hungry, and the oppressed.
That doesn’t mean that you give money to every goober on TV. It does mean that you let God keep your heart in touch.

Pray that God will break your heart in compassion for the needs of others who are probably in your own neighborhood, today.

Amen, and you will be blessed.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

