Do What?!

Luke 6:30-31 “Give to anyone who asks; and when things are taken away from you, don’t try to get them back.  Do to others as you would like them to do to you.”

helpJesus said to “give to anyone that asks.” My first reaction is, you have got to be kidding. I would be broke by the end of the month.

I understand I should give to those who are genuine and deserving. Those who God knows deserve my support. But not the guy on the street corner who I know good and well is going to spend my money on beer.

I believe that you can not read what Christ said without reading the whole. Christ said to give it all. But He also said to, “Do to others as you would like them to do to you.”

I want people to do for me what is in my best interest. If I want money for drugs, I don’t need somebody to give me money to buy more drugs. What I need is for someone to care enough to intervene in my life and pray for me, and guide me to the way to recover from a drug addiction.

God does not appoint us to be His gatekeeper of riches that He may have entrusted us with. But I am also not here for the purpose spreading money. You and I are here for a purpose of leading others to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. I am here to raise others up. Sometimes that may involve giving money. Other times it may involve much more by way of your personal involvement.

There is no easy answer about how to gauge what you do with giving. Oftentimes, people are coming to you because God has sent them. Ultimately, it is for you to listen to the Holy Spirit.

Remember, Peter, when being approached by the lame man on his way to the temple, looked intently and exclaimed, “I have no silver or gold, but what I have, I give you.  In the name of Jesus Christ, stand up and walk.”

Let Christ live through you.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

