Get Your Clothes On

Ephesians 6:10-11 “Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.”

armorAfter 28 years of getting up to prepare for work, I have become quite accomplished. What used to take me an hour long routine of preparing myself to hit the front door and head down the road, I now can do in less than 20 minutes. It’s almost as though I am on autopilot as I slide through the routine of hopping in the shower, working  each item at my bathroom sink, and then sliding through the closet as I, without a thought, jump into my suit and select the tie. The only thing left is to make my tea mug and to slide my pocket items in their places. Practice makes perfect.

I love this particular scripture.  It describes in these two verses and the verses that follow, our preparation and attire for the day that will take us all day long.

They are truth, righteousness, readiness, faith, salvation, and the word of God.

It’s not as though you’re going to be able to pick each of these items up and put them on before you go out the door. I guess you could hang your Bible around your neck, but for the most part, they are images of what we as Christians robe ourselves with in the spiritual realm that enables us to be champions.

I challenge you to make a list of those items and tape them on your bathroom mirror. Each day as you are combing hair, brushing teeth, plucking nose and ear hair, take a look at and think about briefly that list. Imagine yourself putting on these items as alluded to in the book of Ephesians.

Thank God as you read that list that you have been enabled to be fully capable as a champion of God. And yes don’t forget your sword, the word of God.

You are prepared for greatness.  Get your clothes on.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

