Are You Serious?

James 5:16 “… The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.”

I try to pray several times per day, with a purpose to keep an open and prayerful dialogue with the Lord.  I have read this scripture probably a hundred times.

seriousRecently, I spent some time thinking deeply about what this scripture really means. I started by looking up the definition of the word “earnest.”  Very simply, it means, “serious, sincere, someone with an attitude to ‘git ‘er done’.”

My paraphrase of this passage might  be,  “The serious prayer of a Believer is powerful, and from that prayer comes wonderful things.”

Serious prayer is not just wishful thinking. I’ve caught myself in much of my prayer time asking for things that I don’t believe I’m really serious about.  I’m not sincere. It’s not as though I am asking for something like a workman who is commencing to perform a job that has to get done. Rather, I’m just voicing my wishful thoughts and placing them in the subject matter of prayer.

Today, examine your prayers. Are you serious about what you’re asking for in your prayer time? If you are, God promises that wonderful things will happen. Be specific, and be serious.

Jesus declared, “Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”  [John 14:14]

Be a serious prayer warrior.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

