Stop Dragging That Weight

James 1:21 “So get rid of every filthy habit and all wicked conduct. Submit to God, and accept the word that He plants in your hearts which is able to save you.”

I am fairly fit. I can run for a good distance. I can ride my bike even further. I don’t swim so far.

weightsI was recently looking at new running shoes. I was amazed at how light they have become.
The salesman made a point to express how much better I would be able to perform in the lighter shoes. Remarkably, the lighter ones were more expensive. Needless to say, I bought the lighter ones even though they were more expensive. Why? Because I wanted to run faster and jump higher.

As a believer, you want to run faster, jump higher, and perform better. To do so you will want to wear the lighter shoes.

Allowing bad habits and negative activities in you life to exist is like wearing weighted shoes. They will cause you to run slower and not nearly as far. You will become fatigued sooner. The run will not nearly be as enjoyable.

Today, shake off the weight that holds you back: bad habits, poor life patterns, and conduct.

Jesus said, “My weight is easy, my burden is light.”

God makes great running shoes.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

