Keep Planting

Matthew 13:7-8  “Some of the seed fell among thorn bushes, which grew up and choked the plants. But some seeds fell in good soil, and the plants bore grain: some had one hundred grains, others sixty, and others thirty.”

cypress

Today, I was standing in my backyard looking at the four beautiful cypress trees that I have growing along the water’s edge. These trees are just beautiful specimens that are upwards of 50 feet high.

I remember when I planted them some 22 years ago. A friend had brought me a 5 gallon bucket full of two foot young trees. The trunks were the size of pencils. The bucket must have had at least 30 to 40 trees to plant. I carefully went along the water’s edge and planted every one of those new trees. Needless to say, many of them did not take. Some of them died within just a few weeks. Others, over the next year, died as well.

By the end of the second year, I was down to less than 25% of all the trees that I planted. Within less than five years, I was down to 6. It almost sounds sort of discouraging to have lost so many trees that I planted. But as of today, when I look out over the trees that I now have, I have been truly blessed.

As believers, we plant young trees when we witness, give testimony, and share the good news of Jesus Christ. Just like the trees that I planted, many will not take. Ultimately, there may be only a fraction of those new trees you plant that turn into mature and great trees.

Do not be discouraged. It is not your job to make the trees grow. Your job is to plant. God works the growing part.

Just know that one day, you may look up at that one great tree and realize it was worth all your labor and time.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

