The Purposeful Path

Isaiah 48:17  This is what the Lord says— your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is good for you and leads you along the paths you should follow.”

averyOn Memorial Day, I was determined to have a great day. All my grandkids from Alabama had come to the house. It was an awesome surprise.

In the morning, I was out of bed. I set my phone to music and plugged in my earbuds, then got on my bike for a good ride. When I got back, I noticed my phone had stopped working. Maybe from my sweat. I may have dropped it. I tried everything, but nothing worked.

I went into a state of panic. I need my phone. I checked the hours of the Verizon store. Even though I had committed to spend the afternoon with my grandkids on the lake, I was compelled by my anxiety to get my phone fixed or replaced.

I thought, Why not pray and ask God to fix my phone? So I did. What happened? He didn’t. But what He did do was speak to my heart. He told me to follow what was important. Put away my phone and be with those kids. So I did. What an amazing afternoon on the lake!

The day was finished with hamburgers on the grill. What a priceless day that was that created eternal memories.

At the end of the day, I drifted back to the shower. My phone was still  where I left it by the sink. I wondered, Might it work now? Is God there for me?

Praise the Lord! It works, and God is the best!  How else could I type out this message?

God wants what is good for you. Stay on His path.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

