How Does That Garden Look?

Galatians 6:7  “Don’t be misled—you cannot mock the justice of God. You will always harvest what you plant.”

Have you ever met someone who just has a green thumb?  They seem to plant anything, and it grows.  They have the most wonderful gardens the most beautiful flower beds. Everything seems to look just right that they water and hoe.

veggies

Well, I’m not one of those people. As a young teenager, I was determined that I wanted to have a garden. I went to the trouble to get my dad to have the neighbor come over with his cultivator and chop up a big section of the yard so that I could plant the ultimate garden. I worked hard and diligently, shaping  each row and planning out the different items that I would plant. Corn, pole beans, carrots, radish, lettuce. You name it, I planted it in my garden.

I had the vision as I finished putting all those seeds in the ground that I was going to, within a few months, have the most lush and productive garden in town. Every day, I was out in that garden hoeing and pulling weeds. Soon, I had small plants popping up everywhere. The problem was that many of these small plants were not the seeds that I planted but were weeds!

Over the course of the next month, I worked diligently almost every day. But it was a never-ending chore that involved a lot of work for a teenage boy.

Over time, I stopped working in my garden every day. It was just too tedious. The problem was that the weeds didn’t care. They just kept growing. After a few months, I found myself only pulling weeds one day a week. Eventually, I lost all interest in my garden, and the weeds overcame. I could detect a hint of some of my produce, but between the squirrels and the rabbits, it was a loss.

As believers, it is true that we harvest what we have planted. But just putting the seed in the ground is not all that is involved in planting. If you don’t work your garden, you will in effect be mocking the justice of God. Then, ultimately your harvest will be lost.

As believers, it is good to plant seeds of the gospel in others. Then you have to cultivate. Pull those weeds to ultimately get to that harvest. The cultivation involves living our lives so that we are an example to those that we have planted seeds within. It also involves going back regularly to work those plants.

Today, plant seeds, but then don’t forget to go back to encourage and cultivate the Word of God in others by your words and deed. It will ultimately bring the harvest.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

