Looked Drunk To Me

Luke 6:36-37  “You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate. Do not judge others, and you will not be judged…”

judgeI was sitting in Chili’s just last night. It was so busy that we made a run for the bar stools. I am getting used to it… No wait, no children, faster service, and multiple TV’s to watch.

About four stools down to my left was another old guy like me.  He was sipping on a beer. All of a sudden, he started to get loud. His speech sounded slurred as he tried to talk to someone across the bar.

All I could think of was to cut him off. He was obviously drunker than Old Man Cootie Brown. After a while, I was ready to complain to the bartender and warn her not to serve him any more.

Than they brought Old Cootie his food. The young girl sitting next to him stood and started to cut up his food. It turned out to be his daughter. He told the guy across the bar he couldn’t use his hands anymore. As it turned out, the guy was a stroke victim and was impaired. He wasn’t drunk at all.

I felt like a fool.

Jesus tells us to not judge, but to rather be compassionate and look at the world around us with concern and care.

Today, forgive me, Lord, for my ridicule and judgement. Give me the chance to see through the eyes of Christ, and to minister and mentor to the world around me.

We must look beyond appearance to see another’s real need and circumstance.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

One thought on “Looked Drunk To Me

Leave a Reply

