Trust and Obey

Psalms 51:12  “Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you.”

trustIt’s funny how songs that you grow up with will stick in your mind for most if not all of your life. Many of us can remember some of the jingles from commercials that we heard when we were children. I guess the marketers are counting on that.

For me, I find it remarkable that I can often have choruses from old church camp songs and Sunday morning music pop into my mind from time to time. I like to think that sometimes the Holy Spirit brings it to my mind because I need it.

This morning, I was reading a scripture in Psalms 51 about returning to David the joy of his salvation.  As I was pondering that scripture, the chorus from an old church song popped in my mind:

“Trust and obey
for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus
but to trust and obey.”

For me, it just confirmed what I was already thinking… God can return the joy that may be lacking on any given day because of your circumstances. But at the same time, you will not remain in that joy if you do not stand and follow Him.

In effect, you have to trust and obey.  That trust and obedience becomes absolute faith in action. It is joy for you and joy to the Lord.

Trust and obey.  There is no other way to be happy as a believer in Christ today.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

