Don’t Slap Me!

Luke 6:29 “If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them.”

Today, I received an email from someone criticizing me about a letter they received from my office. The office letter appears to have been sent to the wrong person. The email was a criticism that ended with an accusation that my Christianity was only about the money.
It made me angry.

I started to write a response giving him a piece of my mind. A sharp criticism of his attack on my motivation and my faith. I’ll tell him. He’ll feel stupid when I’m done.  I did not send that letter.

turnJesus tells us to to turn the other cheek. To do so may be our only chance to share the Good News of Jesus with that person.

Well, I deleted my first work of art and wrote another email response. I apologized and requested that he call me, as I would love to share my testimony. I ultimately concluded that Christ does make a difference that goes way beyond the material things of this world.
As a believer, you can count on this. The more you do for Christ, the more the world will criticize you.

Your decision will always come to this: Will you kick them to the curb, or will you embrace the opportunity to share how following Christ makes all the difference?

Make good decisions. Share Christ with the slappers.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

