What Are You Doing?

Matthew 6:33  “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.”

“What are you doing, where are you going, and what are you chewing?”

I remember that infamous jingle that would be used by my hall monitor, Mr. Hegland, in high school. He was also my math teacher, and he scared me. He had a giant paddle in his closet with holes drilled in it. Mr. Hegland spoke with great authority, or should I say he had my attention. When Mr Hegland was in the halls, everyone scurried like busy ants with their heads down.Thank the Lord I never had to feel that paddle!

kogLife, for many, is composed of scurry and hurry from one life task to the next. For many, we don’t even grasp what we are doing, chewing, or where we are going. It’s just another busy day.

The Bible tells us that for Christians there is purpose. That central purpose is described by Jesus himself when He says, “Seek first the Kingdom of God.”  That sounds rather clear, but what does it really mean? To follow the Lord and seek His way. To walk in a new direction and with a new gait. With a step of righteousness.

Jesus himself tells us that if we will walk in the right direction and walk with a different step of righteousness, God will provide us everything that we need. What a wonderful promise!
What is my answer to Mr. Hegland? That I am going on a walk with God. I am meditating on His word. I am doing His will.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

