Wherever You Go

Joshua 1:9 “Remember that I have commanded you to be determined and confident! Do not be afraid or discouraged, for I, the Lord your God, am with you wherever you go.”

I am getting ready to go on vacation. I will be leaving tomorrow for Cozumel, Mexico for a long week of fun and relaxation. But I’ve noticed that when I travel outside this country, I have a certain level of apprehension, concern, and tension. It’s just like life is just a little more tense when you’re traveling outside the United States. I often think sometimes it’s because it’s unfamiliar and it’s new or different.  For me, I’m a little more relaxed because I have traveled to Mexico on multiple occasions. The first time always can be the most tense.

nofearI remember my very first time of appearing before a judge. I wasn’t actually an attorney yet. I was serving as a legal intern in Oklahoma City for a prominent firm there. I had rehearsed over and over again the things that I was going to say before the judge. I had it memorized so that I could rattle it off in one breath. When it was my turn to speak, I took a deep breath, looked square at that judge, and as fast as the end tag of a used car sales ad, I machine gunned the judge with my words. I spoke so quickly, it was almost uncomprehendable.  The worst part was, I didn’t even realize it!

The judge paused and looked to his bailiff, then they both started laughing hysterically. I was terrified! I didn’t know what to say. I turned and headed out the door and into the men’s bathroom down the hall. I locked myself in one of the stalls in the bathroom and refused to come out.  Ever.

My supervising attorney came and knocked on the door and said get out here now and get back in front of that judge. I refused. I was so terrified that I began to weep and shake. I eventually came out of the bathroom.

I reluctantly accompanied my supervising attorney and sat in the back room until the judge was ready to see me again. Obviously, things worked out and I wasn’t sent to jail as a penalty. (Thank the Lord!)

We all have stories like this. We thank God we don’t have to relive them. They most often arise out of new circumstances and experiences. Instead of determination and confidence, we get the flip side of fear and discouragement.

It is God’s promise to be with us always. It is His desire  that wherever we find ourselves, we should be determined and confident.

How do we overcome our fear?  By prayer and by repetition.

I used to be terrified of giving my testimony or witnessing to another person about Jesus Christ. I don’t know why I was afraid; I just was. But I can say now, I’m rarely afraid to talk about the Lord to another person. It’s because I’ve done it over and over again, and the more I do it, the more I lose the fear and discouragement that comes with new experiences.

Today, the Lord wants you to know that wherever you go and whatever you do, you should do it with  determination and confidence. How can we have such attributes?  By His Spirit, God is with you. And if God is with you, who can stand against you?

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

