Keep It Real

Luke 5:4-6, 8, 10-11 When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Now go out where it is deeper, and let down your nets to catch some fish.” “Master,” Simon replied… if you say so, I’ll let the nets down again.” And this time their nets were so full of fish they began to tear! When Simon Peter realized what had happened, he fell to his knees before Jesus and said, “Oh, Lord, please leave me—I’m too much of a sinner to be around you.”  Jesus replied to Simon, “Don’t be afraid! From now on you’ll be fishing for people!”  And as soon as they landed, they left everything and followed Jesus.

Today was a great day to fish. We got on the boat around 8am. The water was crystal blue, and it was beautiful. While we were riding out to our fishing grounds, I couldn’t help it. I prayed hard that God would let us catch a fish. It was a special time for me and my grandson.

Within 10 minutes, I hooked a big one! My pole bent, and like a pro I worked it. I was going to show my grandson how great fisherman his Papa was. I know you shouldn’t tempt God, but thank you, thank you, thank you!

When I had that fish within 15 yards of the boat, I felt a large tug. Then nothing. But something was still there. It was half a fish, courtesy of a barracuda.

db

We all had a great laugh. God has a great sense of humor.  I asked God for a fish. I just forgot to ask for a whole fish.

The great part was that my grandson and I got more fish. Head and tail.

My point is that God wants to be in your daily moments. Every day. Even when you’re in a boat in the sea.  He wants to laugh with you, to cry with you, and to love all over you.

The question is will you let Him in today?  Praise the Greatest Fisher of Men.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

