Just a Little While

1 Peter 5:10 “In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.”

meal

I was in a restaurant last night. When you eat at enough restaurants, you don’t always receive the kind of service that you hoped for. It usually involves them preparing your food not to your liking, or the (slow) speed at which they bring out your food, or they bring out your salad and your main course all at the same time.

Last night, I had the triad of bad things occur. I waited forever to get somebody to come get my order, then they messed up the order, and it took forever.  How you respond in such circumstances, I believe, says worlds about your attitude, perspective, and patience as a Christian.

Amazingly, at the end of my service just as I was about to blow my final gasket to the manager, someone walked by and said, “I know who you are.  You’re that attorney who advertises as a Christian attorney on Joy FM.”

I felt a sense of panic rush through my spine. I was like a deer caught in the headlights.
I just smiled awkwardly and said, “Thank you.”  Needless to say, I did not call over the manager, and I gave the waitress a rather large tip.

Patience should be viewed by us as believers through the eyes of God. God sees our whole experience here on earth as just a little while.

Today, whenever you feel your blood pressure rising, remember God’s patience and His perspective: that we are only here “for a little while.”

Let’s take advantage of our opportunities and be beacons of light to a world in need of a Savior.  And yes, be kind and give good tips.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

