Who is Your Boss?

Colossians 3:23-24  “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ.”

boss

Years ago, while attending seminary, I was working part time for a local roofing company. There, I worked along an assortment of different guys. Some rather tough and rough. One of those who was rough and tough was my boss.

Man, could that guy yell at us all!  It was his primary method of motivation, and, oh, was he good at it. I remember one of my fellow seminary buddies who was also working with me as a roofer. He was moving a little too slow for the boss. He got yelled at all that day.

Finally, my buddy stood and turned to the boss and said, “I hear you, but know God is my Boss.” You could have heard a nail drop on that roof. It sounded cool. However, needless to say, after that day, my buddy no longer worked there.

God tells us that we are to step it up. Our attitude. Our performance. The excellence of all we do.  Why?  So that we can create opportunities to share Christ with others.

Today, create an attitude in all you do, even on the job, that you are working for the Lord.
You will step it up to a new level.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

