The Path

1 Thessalonians 5:11 “So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.”

This week, I had the chance to interact with two different believers. The first was a young man who had just in the last 6 months given his life to Christ. I enjoyed so much listening to his experiences. It brought to my memory many things that have already happened to me.

Later that same day, I met with a much older couple. They told me about a long life of where they have been and how God has led them. They had recently been through many trials and tribulations that were heavy. They were still dealing with many of these weights.
I caught myself quickly giving advice and critique. I didn’t give nearly as much encouragement.

Not everyone is in the same place on the path before them with God as you. It’s easy to be critical sometimes to other believers who are short on maturity. In some ways, you may think that you are helping them by sharing the benefit of your experience.

The Bible doesn‘t tell us that we should spend our time critiquing. Obviously, everyone’s journey may be a little bit different. The Bible does tell us that no matter who, no matter what journey and where they are along that journey, we are to do one thing and that is toencourage. That means to build them up. To give them words that positively motivates them.

two-cents

I always remember while in Seminary, one of my fellow students in the breakroom saying something to the effect that “I gave him my two cents.”  Another student looked at him and said, “What make you think it was  worth two cents?”

Today, you will probably have an opportunity to encourage. In fact, every day as you interact with both believers and unbelievers, you have that chance. Your words of encouragement will always be good. It will always have a benefit both for you and the person that you are encouraging on their walk with Christ.

Encouraging words are always worth two cents.

Have a blessed weekend.

~Dean Burnetti

One thought on “The Path

Leave a Reply

