Don’t Be A Drifter

Hebrews 4:15  “This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin.”

I live on the lake. I just love to float in the middle of the lake after I jump off the side of our pontoon boat. I can close my eyes, and before you know it, despite the calm water, I will just float away. Thank the Lord Patti will drive over and pick me up.
You know, I have every intention to stay next to the boat. That is my desire. But I don’t always control how life floats.

floatSometimes in our weakness, we can so easily drift from our commitments to God.
It may be to walk closer with God. To work with the youth in your church. To be a better dad or spouse.

I’m convinced that most of us want to stand dear to our convictions. To the things we hunger for. But somehow we drift from our boat.

Scripture teaches us that it takes effort to be committed.
To discipline ourselves to start each morning in prayer. To not be distracted from God.

To do so, you have to be creative. For me, I finally tied my float tube with a rope to the side of the boat.

Scripture tells us that Christ faced all the same weaknesses that we do: Physical limitation and emotional challenge; being tired and in need of sleep; the feeling of rejection by those around us.

He understands. No, He did not fail in His experience with these weaknesses, but He understands who we are and what we experience.

And yes He wants us to emerge victorious through our tests in life.

So, be encouraged. Christ has already walked your steps and takes your outcome personally. His forecast is that you will win!!!!

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

