Good Advice is God’s Advice

Proverbs 19:20-21 “Get all the advice and instruction you can, so you will be wise the rest of your life. You can make many plans, but the Lord ’s purpose will prevail.”

I’ve been recently interviewing new potential employees to work in my office. Making such decisions can feel very difficult. We all just have so many choices to make in today’s busy schedule.  Some of them are big, but all feel important.

The Bible tells us it’s okay to look for advice of others around you. And as we know,  everybody has an opinion about most every decision you may face. Likewise, no one is short of the desire to share with you what their opinions are.

Wise counsel is good. That is a fact. But you do want to pay attention to the people your advice comes from.

lizards

I try to ask myself the following:
1. Is the person who is providing advice is knowledgeable about the subject we are discussing?
2. What is their relationship with God?

It’s always been a struggle for me to know when to look for advice from others and when to just listen to God.  My general path presently is simple: I start with God, and I end with God.

Advice I from others in the middle is good. But God’s word and His Spirit get the final influence.

The answers sometimes take a little longer, but I’m always glad that I listened.
And, yes, I listen to my wife, too. She is super wise.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

