Be Prepared

Matthew 25:2-4, 13 “Five of them were foolish, and five were wise.  The five who were foolish didn’t take enough olive oil for their lamps,  but the other five were wise enough to take along extra oil.  So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.”

Today, we in Central Florida are getting ready for what may be a Tropical Storm to come. A hurricane approaches Florida and will soon be upon us. It is amazing, though, that with all of our technology, we still cannot absolutely predict the perfect course that the storm will follow. We have probabilities but not absolutes. Despite our lack of knowledge of the exact path and timing of the storm, we still are compelled to prepare for what may come.

hiking

I always remember the Boy Scout motto that is imprinted upon me: “Be Prepared.”  I cannot tell you how many times I had to recite that motto as a youth. In the parable of Christ concerning the virgins and their lamps, we see five who were prepared with oil for the future, and we see five who were not prepared. Ultimately, they missed the celebration.

As Christians, we not only need to prepare for the physical storms of life, but we also need to be prepared in our spiritual readiness. Yes, the absolute and only preparation starts and ends with knowing Jesus Christ as our personal savior. But we also need to keep our awareness in the spiritual realm. There really is a spiritual battle around us. I am convinced that angels work on our behalf and at God’s will.

I’ve often tried the experiment of asking myself as I prepare for tomorrow, “What If tomorrow were my last day here on Earth?”  How would I conduct myself and what different things would I do?  Would I still get up and go to work?  In what ways would I change my conduct for the day?

Regardless of whether you want to try my experiment, do place time on your day’s schedule to focus on your spiritual readiness for the future. Remember, our storm has a bright end to it.  There is definitely a rainbow in our future.  Follow Christ.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

