Cut Some Slack

Ephesians 4:2  “Be always humble, gentle, and patient. Show your love by being tolerant with one another.”

I flew up to Alabama to do depositions all day today.  While I was on the plane, I decided to read the book of Ephesians from beginning to end.  It’s a short enough book, and not a really long read.

planeJust as I got to Chapter 2, the flight attendant came by to take our drink order.  I ordered a soda, and the guy next to me ordered a Miller Light.  Eventually, she brought my ginger ale, but she forgot the Miller Light for the man beside me.

After everyone on the plane was served, some fifteen minutes later, the flight attendant started the trash pick-up.  When she got to my row, she asked if we wanted anything else. The man beside me  kindly asked for his beer again with a gentle smile on his face.

The flight attendant was sweet and returned his smile then ran to get his beer. All along, he was polite, smiled, and thanked her.  Not many guys would have been so kind.

After she left, I told him not many guys would be so forgiving when someone forgot their beer. I told him I thought his actions were really stand up. After his drink arrived, I shared with him how righteous his actions were, and told him that I’d be writing about his kindness in my devotional. We shared emails.

Hallelujah!  The door has opened for me to share the gospel.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

