Why Do You Love The Lord?

Psalms 116:1-2  “I love the Lord because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy.  Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath!”

Many years ago, I used to love to watch The Art Linkletter Show.  He was such a gracious man who had an amazing capacity to interview young children.  In the 60s, it was the best of entertainment.

'Kids Say The Darndest Things' On 'Art Linkletter's House Party'I especially enjoyed listening to the interview answers from the children. There comes such an honesty with all that they have to say. Their perception may not be the same as mine, but it is always pure truth.

Many years ago I remember hearing Mr. Linkletter interviewing some young adolescents and asking them if they love their mom and dad.  He didn’t just stop there.  He went further to ask them the question, “Tell me why you love your mom and dad.”  One young girl just replied, “Because I do.” Another young boy came up with a reason that sounded more justified that he loved his mom because, “She makes me cake.”

My favorite was a young girl with yellow, curly hair who explained that she loved her dad because when she would sit on his lap, he listened to her talk about her day.  When I came across today’s verses in Psalms, it made me remember why that little girl loved her father.

The Psalmist tells us that he loves the Lord because He bends down to listen. Because He hears his voice.

Today, if you are a believer, be encouraged that God hears your voice. He bends down to listen to you because he loves you, too.  I really like that.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

