The Light That Leads To life

John 8:12 – Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”

Over the weekend, I was cleaning out some of my personal garbage that I had stored away in the closet. It’s amazing how over years you can accumulate so many things. Many of those things really don’t have much use. I guess that’s why people have garage sales.

light

One of the items that I found was an old 2 D-cell flashlight. It had the little, round bulb in it. Very traditional. Obviously, the batteries were no good. I got those out and grabbed two fresh batteries then turned the flashlight on. Well that wasn’t much. It almost made me wonder if it was working. I just happened to have another one of the new triple-A battery type of LED flashlights that you can buy off the counter now for less than five bucks. I took them into the study and turned them both on one at a time with the door closed and the lights out. It was absolutely amazing!

The large flashlight with the single bulb from 15 years ago cast very little, if any, light. I mean it was better than nothing, but it just wasn’t a lot. When I flipped on the small LED flashlight, WOW!  It was as though I was holding eight of the other flashlights. Technology has sure come a long way. What used to be a state-of-the-art flashlight from 15 years ago would not even be purchased by most folk any longer. I wouldn’t want to have to depend on that old flashlight to find my way.

Jesus says that He’s the light of the world. That He is the light that leads to life. I do believe that people who do not know Jesus Christ still have a flashlight. But I’m afraid their flashlight is like the old flashlight that I found from so many years ago. It just casts a very dim light. They use their knowledge, their own personal wisdom, and their education to make their decisions and find their way through life. They make the “intelligent Decisions.”

As believers, even though we try and make intelligent decisions, we’re guided by something more. We’re guided by the light that reveals life here on this earth and in the life to come.

Today, open your heart and your mind to Jesus Christ. He will make everything in life look so much brighter. In that light, your path will look so much clearer. Remember, there is no life better than the one that is lit by Christ.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

One thought on “The Light That Leads To life

Leave a Reply

