You Look Just Like Me

2 Corinthians 3:18 “So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.”

One thing I always remember from my childhood is my father telling me that I looked just like him. For some reason that was so satisfying to me, and it made me so proud. For each of us, we have a yearning to know that we belong to someone who accepts us for who we are. Someone who is associated with us on more than just a superficial level. We’re connected to that person on an intimate plain of existence.

twinOne of the neat things about becoming a Christian is that from the moment we become a child of God, that kind of association is created with the Lord Jesus Christ. From that moment forward, the Bible tells us that God’s Spirit who is the Lord Jesus Christ begins the transformation of us on a daily basis that makes us more and more like Him.

Does this transformation require anything of us? I do believe that it does. Or I should say that I believe that our journey will enhanced by what we do. If we are engaged, hand-in-hand with our Father on the journey from the day of our salvation, we create an environment that will enhance, accelerate, and accentuate our transformation. On a daily basis, we should pray, read our Bible, converse with God, and listen to the Spirit’s guidance.  Why?  Because will make us change into His glorious image over the lifetime of our journey.

The reality is that each day of our journey, we are promised that we are changed to be more and more like Him. That means that I look differently today than I did yesterday. Today, I look a little bit more like the Lord.

What a great journey. What a great transformation to be like Him.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

