Are you interested?

Philippians 2:3-4  “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.”

This last weekend I went to a car show in Saint Petersburg. There were so many remarkable cars. Some of them were new, but for the most part, all of them were very interesting. I left my name with a couple salesman and let them know I was interested. By Monday, I was already starting to get emails inviting me to talk.

cars

I believe that when you show an interest, others will show interest in you.  I’m often confronted by my clients with statements like,  “I know I’m not your only client.”  Sometimes that makes me a little upset.  I often think what they’re trying to say is that I’m too busy for them.

However, now, with reflection, I believe that what people are really trying to ask is if I’m truly interested in them.  I believe people have a human need for others to think about them and show interest in who they are and what they experience in life.

As believers,  we can get busy just like everyone else in the world. Taking the time to show interest in another creates opportunities for us to minister.  Almost always, before you can create the opportunity to minister or witness to another, you have to show that person that you’re interested in them and that their interests and needs are important to you.

When Christ was on earth ministering, He almost always inquired of a person’s need. He used their interests to gain their attention so He could minister to them.

Today, know first of all that God is interested in you. He is so interested in you that His attention is on you not some of the time but ALL of the time.

Take the time to be attentive to the interests of others around you. It will create opportunities not only in your business and work but also in your ministry as you spread the word.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

