Give What?

Matthew 19:21-22  Jesus told him, “If you want to be perfect, go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” But when the young man heard this, he went away sad, for he had many possessions.

Yesterday at church, I was confronted with a video to view. It was that video that you don’t look forward to watching just before the Thanksgiving holiday. It was about children and hunger.

As usual, I wept. Then I asked God how much I should give.

everything

“Give everything,” was what He said to my heart.

“God, are you kidding? I know this is a test. You just want me to tell you I am willing to give You everything.  Yes, Lord, you own everything.  I surrender all.”

Then silence.

God said again, “Give everything that is in your pocket.  That’s all you have, and that’s what I want you to give today.”

Jesus could’ve easily said to the young rich man that he should commit future earnings to the poor like an easy credit card monthly debit plan.  But God doesn’t need our installments. He desires all you have today.

When Christ was in the Garden, that same question was presented to the Father. What should I give?

The Father’s answer?  “Give everything.”

Have a blessed day

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

