It’s All Good

James 1:2  “My brothers and sisters, you will face all kinds of trouble.  When you do, think of it as pure joy.”

I like the really good days.  You know those days when everything goes just right.  Those special days when I just can’t do wrong. Every decision is perfect. It’s on those days that I wish I’d remember to buy a Lotto ticket.
Too bad every day can’t be just like those.

goodIf you’re like me, the unfortunate truth is that for every perfect day, there are a whole bunch more “struggle days.”  You know the ones that for every piece of good news you receive, there are five troubles that follow.

As a young teenager, I always had difficulty with bad days. When I became a Christian, I really believed that every day would be supernaturally wonderful.

I went into the basement after a hard day and punch my speed bag. It helped a little, but not much. My father often came down when he heard the speed bag and gave me the same advice: He said, “Deanie, sometimes you just can’t care.”  (Though sometimes he used more graphic language… Regardless I got it.)

It’s not that today is a good day or bad day.  Rather it’s my response to every day.

As believers, we’re told to receive each day with joy.  With the knowledge that in our stresses, troubles, victories, and blessings, God is forming us into His likeness, everyday is a good day with the Lord by your side.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

