What You Doing?

1 John 5:14  “And we are confident that He hears us…”

Yesterday, one of my pastor friends called me.  He gave me the typical introductory question of, “What are you up to?”

I replied with a long dissertation about all the things I was presently involved with, including all the difficulties and complexities of the moment. When I got done there was a pause. Then he asked me, “But what are you doing with God today?”

I was quick to admit, “Not nearly as much as I should be.”

We then had a good discussion about how we scurry back and forth during the business of our day, all along failing to realize that we’re supposed to be walking with God. That walk includes talking.

talkWe just somehow have this functional impression that He parts company with us at the busiest part of our day. That we then turn away and go in our own direction only to come back for support and help later when things get tough.

I’m afraid this is probably Satan’s biggest trap for the modern believer — that we become so entwined with the tempo of the day, we don’t take the time to to talk to God.

God promises that in every step you take, He hears  every word you think or say. Your journey cannot be effective in silence.

Keep talking to God, and He promises He will hear you.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

