What Did I Say?

James 3:9-11 “With our tongues we praise our Lord and Father.  With our tongues we call down curses on people. We do it even though they have been created to be like God.  Praise and cursing come out of the same mouth.  My brothers and sisters, it shouldn’t be that way.”

Last Sunday morning, we were at church.  It was a wonderful service.  There were songs of praise and prayers.  The message was very good.  During praise and worship, I made it a point to sing hard and long and think about each of the words that were coming from my mouth.  It was a very uplifting experience, and it really put me in a good attitude.

As I left, I greeted a couple folks and complimented the pastor.  I only had words of praise and good things to say for everyone around me.

Then as we started down the road,  within a few blocks, we approached the Polk Parkway. I turned left onto the ramp when all of a sudden, from my right side a car zoomed up and failed to yield as they are required to by law.  They literally ran the yield sign as they darted in front of me and almost clipped the front end of my truck.

driver

I was so angry!  The only thing I could think of was a bad word, and it came out.  As soon as it came out, I just shook my head and looked down.  I couldn’t believe that he pulled in front of me, and I also couldn’t believe that word came out of my mouth. How is it possible that out of the same mouth, there were words of praise, worship and Godly things being said; then, within less than 10 minutes, such a foul word emerged?

I think most of you know what I’m talking about. It almost makes you feel hypocritical that we are able to flip from God to the gutter, in a matter of a few minutes.

No doubt, I am the sinner, even though I’m trying to be more than that.  Our tongue is one of our most powerful weapons for service and for self-destruction.

For me, I quickly asked God to forgive me.  I then moved on.  When you fall off the railroad track, get back on as soon as possible. Get your head on straight and your heart in gear.

God does not require you to spend an appropriate period of time in guilt.  Say you’re sorry, and keep that mouth praising, proclaiming, and preaching the Good News.

(By the way, I hope the guy that turned in front of me doesn’t go to church with me.)

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

