Might As Well Have A Seat

Matthew 28:2 “Suddenly there was a great earthquake! For an angel of the Lord came down from heaven, rolled aside the stone, and sat on it.”

angelI’ve always been one of the nervous ones. You know, one of the guys who can’t seem to be still and paces back and forth on the carpet. I remember at my first law office job, I had a carpet that I bought at the local furniture store. It was a nicely designed oriental rug. After less than one year, I’d paced so much across one area in front of my desk that I actually it created a track. You could see my shoe marks going back and forth. I must have walked a hundred nervous miles.

Doing great things doesn’t always mean that you don’t stop and take a break.  Here we have probably one of the mightiest angels from Heaven who came to remove the stone from the face of Jesus’ tomb.

Once done, he decided to take a seat. I wonder what he was waiting around for. You think he would do something else really great like fly around the rock some. But he after doing what no human could do , he decided to have a seat on it. I don’t know if that reflects how small a task it really was for him, or possibly he just took it all in stride.  I like to think that he was just making it look easy.

Over these holidays we’re going to have many celebrations in glad experience. But we’re also going to see those around us who suffer from stress and anxiety in the hustle and busyness of the season.  I challenge you take it in stride.  You have opportunities to move great stones.  You also, though, need to make it look easy as you show the confidence of knowing Christ.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

