Fly High

Isaiah 40:31 “But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.”

Many years ago, I remember shopping for a new yard swing for my wife. There was a gentleman who lived on the highway outside our town who had some of the most beautiful handmade wooden porch swings for sale. I remember the owner coming out from his house to show me the swings. He seemed like a very nice fellow, at least until his wife came outside.

I would ask different questions, and she would make comments about the swing and how nice it was. He then immediately got mad and criticized anything she said as being incorrect, and he ultimately started to cuss at her. It was embarrassing to say the least. Every word that came from his mouth that was directed to her was hurtful and insulting.
Needless to say, I did not buy a swing from that man. I was just so upset over how he beat on her emotionally, and in public.

I must admit that growing up, I developed a very bad impression about God’s relationship with me. I almost thought of God as in constant judgement and criticism over me. I recognized that I needed to feel conviction before I could create a relationship with God. But at some point, I developed this attitude that I needed God to be in constant judgment over me in order to keep me in a right relationship with Him. I never really thought of Him as being my source of encouragement. I thought that with my sinful life, it took all of His time just to keep correcting me.

eagle

The truth be told, our God can be our ultimate encourager. His words in Isaiah illustrate that God would much rather spend his time cheering us forward than being our critic.

I’m convinced that our God wants us to succeed in every endeavor and moment of our lives. The cry from heaven is not that we need to get it together in life, but rather that God is proud of and cheering for you. That he wants you to soar on wings like eagles.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

