A New Year’s Gift

John 14:27 – “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”

Today, on my way home, I checked my GPS. I counted at least three accidents on the interstate. I thought, “What a terrible thing to happen during the holidays.”   I thought, “Wouldn’t it be great if God insulated us from troubles during the Christmas and New Year Season?”

2017dog

But there are still hospitals that are full even during this time of the year. Sickness and death are still around us.

God’s gift for you and I is not an uneventful year of celebration and health. He tells us His gift is something that is greater.  His gift is a state of mind and of soul.

No matter what your circumstances are, God has promised His peace.  That peace is a state of mind and heart.  It’s a calmness that no matter where you are in life’s troubles, God has you in His hands as you experience the inevitable of life.

During times of trouble, look to God and declare His gift of calmness and peace for your mind and heart. The storms of life are for certain to occur, but as believers you can walk with the peace that surpasses all understanding.

Have a blessed New Year!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a comment