Absolutely There Is No Exception

John 14:6  – “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.”

The older I get, the fewer the absolutes there are that seem to exist in my life.  When I was young, I thought I  had everything figured out.
What was right and what was wrong. I was convinced there could be no grey areas in life.
You are either for me or against me. etc., etc., etc.

Square Peg in a Round HoleAs my journey approaches the big sixty, I’ve noticed a change. I have not nearly the number of absolutes. Not everything I face fits in a square or round hole. But I think that makes the absolutes that remain even more precious.

My relationship with Christ has never been more important. I love these lyrics:

“I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold,
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or land,
Yes, I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand.
Than to be the king of a vast domain
And be held in sin’s dread sway
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.”

Hold fast to this one certainty: He is the only way.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

