Put it in perspective

1 Peter 5:10 – “In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.”

I was listening to Christian radio this morning when I heard a song that I truly enjoyed. One of the lyrics was, “I am a flower quickly fading.”

Scripture describes us often as being a flower or blade of grass that is here for only a season. But how can a life possibly extending over a hundred years be considered a flower that is quickly fading?

The answer is perspective.

perspective

I remember as a teenager thinking to myself that I couldn’t wait to turn 16-years old so I could finally get a job and get my own car. I would be free, and my life would be emancipated. It seemed to me as though this short time of a few years stretched into an eternity.

Yet now at the age of almost 60, it seems that time passes by so quickly. I can’t believe that another year so fleeting passed me by. Now it makes me appreciate how the song writer described our experience on Earth as a flower that is quickly fading, here today and gone tomorrow.

God sees us from a perspective of eternity. It makes the suffering and hardship of life only temporary.

Know that you are a creature of eternity. Your time on earth is only for a little while. God says that in our conclusion on earth, we will be restored, healed, and strengthened to a new life. God will place us on a new foundation that cannot be moved or faded.

As believers, we cannot lose our vision of who we are and where we’re headed. We must hold tight to Heaven’s perspective.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

