Put On Your Glasses

Psalm 1:3 – That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither— whatever they do prospers.

I’ve been very fortunate during my lifetime to not have the need to wear prescription glasses. I’ve always been able to get by without them. That was until around the age of 40.

Gradually but surely, everything up close had to be pulled farther away to read. Initially, it only affected my book reading. But eventually, it got to the point of affecting looking at the computer screen. I fixed that problem. I just bought a bigger screen.

Without my reading glasses, I now have a hard time reading books. With my faithful reading glasses, I’m just fine.  My glasses definitely create a different perspective of fine print.

The Psalmist describes for us in Chapter 1 that believers are like trees planted by the water whose leaves never wither. He also proclaims that in everything we do, we will prosper.

It sounds very encouraging, but with a second glance it just doesn’t sound correct. I know that my leaves are going to wither. I see them withering every year. A little bit more graying hair and wrinkles. I know that in everything I do, it does not prosper. I have my series of failures just like everyone else.

But I realize now as a believer, that I have a different perspective. I have a pair of lenses provided by the Holy Spirit, and the Word of God gives me a perspective that is different than that given through my worldly set of eyes.

readingAs I look through the God vision, I see something completely different. As a child of God, my leaves will never wither. I have eternity in heaven with Jesus Christ.   In all that I do, I will prosper because my steps are ordered by the Lord. In everything that I do, God will use that to help shape me into His image. Even my failures will be used to prosper me to be conformed to the image of Jesus Christ.

Yes, there is a level of God’s perspective that we have to engage in, so that we can realize that what the Psalmist proclaims is true.

Today, don’t forget those glasses. Be encouraged by the truth that we are forever in Jesus Christ, and remember everything good and bad is used by God to prosper us in the hands of our Maker.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

