What Are You Selling?

Mark 11:15-16 – “When they arrived back in Jerusalem, Jesus entered the Temple and began to drive out the people buying and selling animals for sacrifices. He knocked over the tables of the money changers and the chairs of those selling doves, and he stopped everyone from using the Temple as a marketplace.”

sold

I’ve heard many messages preached and lessons taught on the subject of Jesus throwing the money changers out of the Temple. I always thought it was the perfect example that the Lord was not afraid to take action and kick some butt. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that we are to go inside the church house and start throwing people out. So what’s the meaning of this factual account for you and I today?

Start by considering your own motives for the things that you do in the ministry and your church.  I’ve been sincerely concerned about my own advertising and to what extent I may use that.

I represent to the public that I’m a Christian attorney.  I want to display my ministry, but at the same time I don’t want to exploit it to make money. You may have your own examples within your individual experience.

Ultimately, I believe that we each have to utilize our own conscience to determine and measure when we are doing our ministry for the sake of Christ or the desire to financially prosper.

For me, I measure my success and commitment by what I plant in the lives of others around me who work not only with me but also those whom I serve. Do you ask God in effect what you can do to help or what you can get?

I don’t believe that the Lord was upset with those who were selling doves for sacrifice. He was upset because of their motivation and purpose.

Praise God for His grace that is  rich and full.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

