How Much?

Matthew 22:37 – Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’

When I was doing my Bible reading this morning, I came across this verse once again. I like to compare various versions of the Bible. As I compared one version to the next, I was surprised that in every translation I viewed, it was always the same. To love God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.

loveI wondered why Christ described our love for God on these three planes of heart, soul, and mind. I tried to think of examples of loving another, with heart, mind, and soul. And then I thought about newlyweds who are freshly and hotly in love. I mean you always know it when you see them out in public. No one else exists in the room except those two sitting at the dinner table. You almost don’t want the kids to have to watch it all.

But I do believe that’s a perfect example of what God wants from us. He wants to have a relationship with you that involves our minds; He wants our relationship to extend on an emotional level; and He also wants us to develop a relationship with Him as spiritual beings.

It’s okay to cry with the Lord. It’s okay to feel about God. It’s okay to meditate in a spiritual existence. It’s also okay to think about Him and His presence on a daily basis at any time of the day.  I believe the ultimate compliment I have heard was described by a missionary friend that said he dreams about his conversations with Jesus Christ.

Today, it should be your goal to fall in love with Christ on every plane of your existence: mind, body, and spirit.

I hope someday that I can say I actually dreamed about my conversation with Jesus.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

