How Do They Hear If No One Speaks?

Romans 10:17 “So faith comes from hearing, that is, hearing the Good News about Christ.”

wifedogsThis morning, I went outside to call my dogs to come into the house.  I needed to go places and do things.  Two of them came running through the door but the third one, our Italian Greyhound named Tag, remained outside.  She was not looking at me.  She was facing the other direction  staring at something on the ground. You see, Tag didn’t hear me because she’s deaf.  I could scream all I wanted to, but she wasn’t going to respond.

Eventually, I walked beside her, and she was able to catch sight of me.  My motions and signals were clear. She then darted inside the house.

The Apostle Paul tells us in the Book of Romans that a lost and dying world must hear of the Gospel, the good news, in order to come to faith.

As believers in Christ, we have the responsibility to  communicate the Good News to a lost and dying world. We can communicate through many methods and styles, through word, writing, and deed.  But ultimately, there comes a point where communication requires that we do something more than just looking at them if they are to hear.  It takes an extra effort on our part.

Today, take a step forward, and ask God to provide you a chance to tell the Good News to someone.  Don’t give up.  Go a little extra.  It’s the most valuable thing you could ever tell a friend.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

