Love Doesn’t Keep Score

1 Corinthians 13:4-5 “Love is patient and kind; it is not jealous or conceited or proud; love is not ill-mannered or selfish or irritable; love does not keep a record of wrongs”

moreWhen I was a small child, my mother frequently reminded me that I didn’t always need to get the last hit. When we would play, whether it be tag, wrestling, or whatever game, I always liked to get the last touch or hit. It frustrated me if I didn’t. I always wanted to be the winner.

The Bible describes love as having attributes that are inconsistent with someone who wants to always be the winner. We should not be keeping records or score. What we should do is to look beyond our selfishness and express our love to our spouse, family, and friends without concern over who gets the last hit.

Today, resolve yourself that your love goes beyond your own need. I guarantee that’s better than the last hit.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

