How Do I Know He Heard Me?

Proverbs 15:29 – “The Lord is far from the wicked, but he hears the prayers of the righteous.”

During the holidays, I had the luxury of listening to one of my granddaughters say her prayers. I thought it was so precious that when she got to the part about the things that she wanted for Christmas, she began to plead with all the emotion and facial expression she had to offer up to God. She obviously wanted to insure that God would pay attention and hear her requests.

pray

I thought it was so cute at the time, but then lately I realized I’ve often done the same thing. I want to do anything I can to make sure that God hears me — Ask a dozen times, show my emotion, do whatever it takes to assure He hears me.

I’m not saying this is bad, but it often reflects my fear that God maybe does not hear me. Maybe it’s my lack of security in my position in God’s attention.

Scripture tells us that He hears the prayers of the righteous. But who are the righteous?

They are only those who have accepted Christ as their personal savior.  If you are born again, you are part of the righteous, not by your works, but by the grace of God.

Today, be secure in God’s promise that He hears your prayers. Every last word.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

