The Rock

Isaiah 26:4 – “Trust in the Lord always, for the Lord  God is the eternal rock.”

rock

I went to the barber a few days ago.  I sat down on the chair after which she spread the cloak around me and fastened it around my neck.  After the customary greetings, her next question to me was how do you want to have your haircut today.

My response was, “I want you to make me look like The Rock.”

I definitely caught her off guard. I heard snickers from the chairs on both sides.
Her reply was quick and witty: “I think you need to go to the gym first”.

Her timing was perfect.  Well, I still want to look like The Rock, but at the age of 60, I’m afraid that my time has been missed. I simply cannot hold out hope to aspire to that vision in the future.

As life goes on, our dreams about our physical appearance diminish. At some point in life, we may simply have to settle for who we are even though we strive to be something more.

But there is great news. As believers, there is one rock that we can aspire to appear like who is forever. Christ is our solid rock.

In earthly form, we can only be rocks for a time, but in the reflection of Christ we are rocks forever.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

