Opportunity

2 Corinthians 12:7-9 – “…I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, ‘My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.’ So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”

Sunday, I was standing in the theater hall (where we attend church) waiting for Patti to come out from child care so we could do the late morning church service together.  All of a sudden, a gentleman in a wheel chair approached me.

He asked me my name. He then looked at me and said, “Dean, Don’t be sad. Everything is going to be alright.”  He then went on to tell me about his car accident. He told me it placed him  in a wheelchair for life, 35 years ago.  He said it was the best thing that could ever  have happened to him.

Wow!  That put me back.

He then went on to tell me that when his accident happened, he was an addict. The accident ended his drug dependence.  He then said, “But the best thing that has ever happened is that I later gave my life to Christ. So you see it is all good. Dean, you have a good life.”  He then just wheeled away.

New Opportunities - Green Pushpin on a Map Background.

Our lives are filled with hills and valleys. Some roads even have potholes.

God doesn’t promise to heal our every trouble or adversity.  But He does promise us the grace to overcome and dwell in Him. It is in those burdens  we can even win others to Christ.

Seize your opportunities.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

