Just Enough

Philippians 4:11-13 – “Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

I’ve been curious to observe life stories of great business men and women. Especially those with stories of making and losing fortunes on repeated occasion in their lives.
I simply can’t imagine going from riches to ruin multiple times in my life. It just sounds overwhelming.

oil

I’ve actually had the chance to meet one of those personalities. He’d been in the oil business in Texas almost his entire working career. He described working in the oil fields and later actually owning his own lucrative oil related business.

He described making fortunes and losing it all at least three times in his life.  I remember asking how he could could survive that emotional roller coaster.  His response was, “Whether rich or poor, I walked with God in my heart. That was enough.”

I’ll never forget those words.

Today, remember God does not promise us riches and wealth. What He does promise is contentment in Him, no matter where we find ourselves.

He is enough.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a comment