Why Me ?

James 1:13-14 – And remember, when you are being tempted, do not say, “God is tempting me.” God is never tempted to do wrong, and he never tempts anyone else. Temptation comes from our own desires, which entice us and drag us away.

whyI spent the last week in trial. I prayed so hard that everything would turn out right for my client. I just knew that God was going to bless me and return a good verdict for my client. Ultimately, at the end of the case, the verdict was not what I hoped for.

I was so disappointed. It left me with feelings that God had abandoned me. That He had turned his face away from me.  In my despair, I almost felt like He was tempting me to turn away from him.

After much time in prayer, I realized that good things and bad things will happen to me for all the days of my life as a follower of Christ. That no matter what the reason for the outcomes and circumstances I experience, God will not allow those things to happen in order to hinder my walk with Him.

He does not promise me that I’ll win every case, but He does promise that He’ll be there with me, whether it’s in the valley or on the mountaintop.

Our walk with Christ is not based upon wins and losses. It’s based upon His Spirit dwelling in our soul so that we can live in the spirit no matter where we find ourselves on our journey with Him.

Today, just like me, you may be going through a time when things just haven’t turned out the way you hoped. In those moments, don’t turn away from Christ. Hold tight in the good times and the bad times. Praise Him when you’re on the mountaintop but also in the valley.  Learn and walk in the spirit no matter where, and no matter when.

Have a blessed weekend!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

