My Compass

Psalms 119:11 – “I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

As a Boy Scout, one of my favorite field contests was the use of a compass and map. I just enjoyed the challenge involved with working a compass and map. It was almost as though I was trying to solve a mystery. I even had my own field compass that I purchased at the local Army Navy Surplus Store. It was fancier than the official Boy Scout compass.

compassBecause I had the fanciest compass, I was often the one in my little troop during field contests to use his better than the boys using the official Boy Scout compass. Everyone thought mine must be better because it just looked like it had more active moving parts. (Ultimately, I don’t think it really was any better than anyone else’s, but I enjoyed the notoriety in my group.)

Believe it or not, I still have that same compass to this day. There really isn’t much call for compasses anymore with young people. They actually have compasses on their smartphones. It’s just one of those things that you throw in a shoe box and whenever you come across it, it brings you a little bit of delight to pick it up one more time and remember how it felt to be a scout.

As believers, we spend our time memorizing small parts of the Word of God. As children, we often referred to them as “memory verses.”  Those small excerpts from God’s word almost become like small hidden compasses for us to find again in our lives. They may not necessarily be valuable to anyone else, but they’re very valuable to us.

Those who have hidden those small scripture compasses will eventually use them as guides. Just like the compass, it helps us stay between the white lines on the road.

Today, spend some time and commit yourself to putting back one of these small compasses each week. Pick a verse and plant it deep within your mind and heart.

It will serve as a valuable asset to you in the future. It will someday be a compass just when you need it.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

