How Are You Now?

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 – “Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.”

manLast night, I made my usual trip to Walmart to pick up a few things. While I was making my way across the parking lot, a gentleman headed directly toward me. He looked like he was living on foot with a knapsack full of personal items, and he appeared to be homeless. As he drew closer, I anticipated what he was going to ask me.

When he got within approximately 10 feet from me, he looked at me and said, “Do you mind, Sir, could you help me out?  I just need 75¢.”

I gave him my usual response.  “I’m sorry, but I only have a credit card today, no cash.”

Normally the response I would expect to hear would be a gruff snarl or something smart in response. However, in this instance, I was quite surprised! He looked at me and said, “Thank you, sir.  I’m sorry to ask.  I hope that you have a good evening.”

This put me back. I then wanted to give him some money. But if I did, I’d have to confess that I wasn’t telling the truth when I said I only had a card.  Once I was in the store and gathered my few items, it bothered me even more.

I felt God poke at me. I heard Him say, “I sent him your way.”

When I got back outside, I hoped and prayed that the man was still there.  Thank goodness he was just standing on the sidewalk.

I walked up to him and held out some cash.  He reached out and took the money, and with a smile said, “Thank you, sir.  I pray that God will bless you.”

It’s so easy to become hardened by the world around us.  For all I knew, he could of spent my money on beer or drugs.  But maybe God placed him on my path because He loves him.  And me.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

