Purpose

Acts 20:24 – “But my life means nothing to me. I only want to finish the race. I want to complete the work the Lord Jesus has given me. He wants me to give witness to others about the good news of God’s grace.”

purpose

This week I’ve been battling a head cold. A few days I actually felt like I needed to stay in bed. This morning when I got up, I felt better, but at some point I asked myself, “Why am I going to work?”

Examining our purpose for what we do frequently is a good thing. For the Apostle Paul, his purpose had little to do with his vocation or personal gain. But rather for him, it was the thought of finishing the race. Finishing the course that Christ had placed before him to spread the good news of Jesus Christ to a world that he encountered along his journey.

For us as believers, we have many purposes that drive us along our journey. Our need to take care of our family is probably one of the greatest and most common driving forces to succeed. The secret, though, is not to put everything aside and only think of spreading the good news but to realize that you can merge all of these purposes, including succeeding in your vocation.

In all that we do, we do so for the glory of God. If I am successful in providing for my family, I can give the credit for my success to Christ. If I am successful in my vocation, I can give all the credit to God for what He’s done. In so doing, in all of our purposes and successes in life, we can use them for the glory of God to ultimately give us opportunity to point others to Christ.

This weekend, count your purposes and focus them in a way to bring glory to God. You will find from that point, every step you take will become precious.

Have a blessed weekend!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

