I Need…

James 4:2-3 “You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it. You are jealous of what others have, but you can’t get it, so you fight and wage war to take it away from them. Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.”

Sunday after I left church, I asked myself the same weekly question: “I’m hungry; what do I want to eat?”

The first thing that pops into my head is often the same: “Chick -fil-A!Image result for chick fil a

But then my wife always responds the same:  :They’re not open on Sunday.”

But I don’t care. I still want Chick-fil-A every Sunday.

I believe what I refer to as my “Sunday Chick-fil-A Syndrome” is indicative of a great problem for many. Namely that we commonly hunger for what we do not and cannot have in life.

It doesn’t mean that I’m sinning because I want Chick-fil-A on Sunday. But James tells us that if we let this go too far in our lives, it can lead to trouble.

King David wanted a woman that he couldn’t have. It led him to lust and the eventual murder of another. And this was a man who was described to being after God’s own heart.

So then how do we overcome this natural weakness in our lives?  James tells us to:

1. Constantly ask God for what we want in prayer; and
2. Let God conform in our hearts what we want to become identical to what we need.

You see, when you expose to Christ the desires of your heart, He will change you.
Not necessarily immediately. But with time, you will change. You will become conformed
to the image of Christ.

I often wonder how King David’s story would’ve changed, had he sought God to give him the woman that he wanted. I am convinced that with time, God would have changed his desires and allowed him to avoid one of the darkest times in his life.

Today, commit yourself to daily and constant discussions with God about the desires of your heart.  I’m convinced God will bring in you a miracle to conform you to His image.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

