My Planner

Proverbs 3:5-6 – “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.”

20170529_110756Yesterday was a wonderful day. Just a glorious Memorial Day.  I started out with no specific plans for the day.  I had watermelon. I had worms.  I had fresh hooks and sinkers with a handful of new bobbers. But with no specific plan in mind, I guess I just wanted to wing the day and see what unfolded.  It couldn’t have turned out better.

Each of my grandsons caught a fish.  Each one of them got a chance to ride on the tube behind the boat.  All I kept thinking was what a wonderful day that the Lord has given us.  It was executed without a plan or to-do list, and I will keep these thoughts and memories forever.

There have been whole books written on the subject matter of how to discover God’s plan for your life. I remember when I was a teenager and struggled with this issue. I always figured if I could just discover exactly what God wanted my plan to be, life would be so easy and so exciting from that point forward.

As I’ve now aged to the eve of sixty, I’ve come to realize so often that God is not going to disclose to me all that is in my plan. For me, it’s become a daily journey. I actually don’t know what tomorrow always holds. This is often the plan. God tells us not to lean on our own understanding, but rather walk a journey of faith. Each day holds new steps that can only be experienced by faith.

Today, you may not know exactly all that you’ll encounter on your journey.  The real journey is not that you’ve determined what God wants you to do in life. The real journey is the individual steps that you’re taking during the course of your day where God places you before others to minister to and for them to minister to you.

Today, don’t fret about your plans. Let God take you to places that you could never plan yourself. Trust in God.  He has a plan just for you.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

